Williamson County
Historical Commission



Sheriffs of Williamson County

The WCHC extends a special thanks to the the Sheriff's department for letting us display these photos. These photos are for viewing only - Photographic policies prohibit reproduction - please contact the Williamson museum for reproduction rights.

click the image for an enlarged view

Marshall, Wayne Magill PDF

click the thumbnail image for an enlarged view

Whitfield Chalk
Sheriff 1848-1850

no photo
Allen Stroud
Sheriff 1850-1851

Joab B Harrell
Sheriff 1851-1855

Levi Asher
Sheriff 1856-1857

Elisha Thomason
Sheriff 1858-1862

William K. Makemson
Sheriff 1863-1865

A L Houston
 Sheriff 1865-1866

William H Warnock
Sheriff 1866-1868

Leroy B Lord Sheriff 1868-1869

John Champion
Sheriff 1869

John L Peay
Sheriff 1869-1874

S M Strayhorn
Sheriff 1874 -1881

James Milton Tucker
Sheriff 1881-1884

Jabus Louellyn Brittain
Sheriff term unknown

John T Olive
Sheriff 1884-1888

Sampson Connell Sheriff
1888-1890 and

W S Brookshire
Sheriff 1892 1894

H C Purl
Sheriff 1894-1898

Sampson Connell
1888-1890 and

Lee O Allen
Sheriff 1912-1924

Louis H Lowe
Sheriff 1925-1936

Robert  Davis
Sheriff 1937-1938 & 1941-1946

B M McLaughlin
Sheriff 1939-1940

Robert  Davis
Sheriff 1937-1938 & 1941-1946

S Red Allen
Sheriff 1947- 1954

Henry  C  Matysek
Sheriff 1954-1974

August Bosshard
Sheriff 1974-1977

A O "Pete" Shier
Sheriff 1977-1978

Jim Boutwell
Sheriff 1978-1993

Ed Richards
Sheriff 1993-2001

John A. Maspero
Sheriff  2001-2003

Richard Elliott
Sheriff  2003 to 2004

Jim Wilson
Sheriff 2004-2005
to be completed


James R Wilson
Sheriff 2005-till now



please click on thumbnail photo to enlarged view

view more photos of the
Photograph Collections of the
Williamson Museum

view other Williamson County history pages